Boyce Avenue Rules!

boyceavenue

Since hearing the unusual rendition of songs like Oasis’ “Wonderwall” and Rihanna’s “Umbrella” over the radio a month ago (or perhaps a couple, I don’t remember exactly), I’ve been wondering who the voice was behind them all.

Coz I honestly thought they sounded as good (or maybe even better) than the original. Avril Lavigne’s “Keep Holdin’ On”, Linkin Park’s “Shadow of the Day”, and Chris Brown’s “With You” were just some of the songs that I thought possessed the same voice quality when I first heard their renditions.

A month ago, I happen to chance upon a very nice-sounding song titled “Change Your Mind”.

I listened to it over and over. Then only today, I visited YouTube and looked for a video of Boyce Avenue. My God, imagine my suprise when I finally learned it was them who was behind the beautiful renditions all along!

I listened to all the songs I could find there with the band singing acoustic versions of various songs and I must say…they sounded so nice, I felt so glad. I really don’t like artists that don’t write their own songs and resort to releasing renditions of old hits. A complete waste of talent if there’s any.

But Boyce Avenue is a different story. I love how they sound, how they make the song feel different. They give it a different feel making those who listen to it the first time appreciate it so much.

And what I especially love about what they do is that they made me listen to the song lyrics and appreciate it even more.

For instance, Rihanna’s “Disturbia” has become my favorite among their renditions.

And then there’s the hit “Change Your mind” which I love so much more.

Only…too bad they’ve been here before I even started to know them…sobs

~ by Jose Jr. on March 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
